New faces on the RACGP Council

Paul Hayes

10/11/2017 11:04:46 AM

The 60th RACGP Council was sworn in at last month’s Annual General Meeting held during GP17, with four new members officially assuming their positions.

L–R: Assoc Prof Charlotte Hespe, Dr Bruce Willett, Dr Zakaria Baig, Assoc Prof Jennifer Presser.
L–R: Assoc Prof Charlotte Hespe, Dr Bruce Willett, Dr Zakaria Baig, Assoc Prof Jennifer Presser.

Assoc Prof Charlotte Hespe is the new RACGP Vice President, replacing Dr Edwin Kruys, and the new Chair of RACGP NSW&ACT, replacing Dr Guan Yeo. As a long-time GP and owner of a teaching practice in Sydney, Assoc Prof Hespe is dedicated to general practice education. She is also Associate Professor, Head of General Practice and General Practice Research for the University of Notre Dame, Australia, School of Medicine, Sydney.
Dr Bruce Willett is the new Chair of RACGP Queensland, replacing Dr Edwin Kruys. Dr Willett is a GP and practice owner in Victoria Point in Redland City, south of Brisbane, where he has worked for the past 25 years. An RACGP examiner since 1994, Dr Willett is committed to grassroots general practice and medical education.
Dr Zakaria Baig is the new Chair of RACGP SA&NT, replacing Dr Danny Byrne. A GP for more than 20 years, Dr Baig currently practises in the northern suburbs of Adelaide and has extensive experience in rural and emergency medicine Australia and the UK. He has also been heavily involved in medical education, with a special interest in assisting international medical graduates [IMGs] with their training in Australia.
Assoc Prof Jennifer Presser is the new Chair of RACGP Tasmania, replacing Dr Clare Ballingall. Assoc Prof Presser has a strong interest in mental health and is currently a GP at headspace in Hobart. She has also worked as a medical educator with General Practice Training Tasmania and Tropical Medical Training in Queensland, and is currently the University of Tasmania academic lead for the medical program (MBBS).
Chair of RACGP Victoria Dr Cameron Loy has also taken on the role of Chair of RACGP Specific Interests, replacing Dr Danny Byrne.
Visit the RACGP website to read more about the 60th RACGP Council.

GP17 RACGP-council


Login to comment