Candidates for RACGP President confirmed

Jolyon Attwooll

4/08/2022 12:17:04 PM

Seven GPs will be vying for the two-year position to lead Australia’s peak body for general practice at a time of enormous change.

RACGP building
A new RACGP President will be announced in September.

The nominations to become the next RACGP President later this year have been confirmed. Seven GPs from around the country are in the running to replace the current President, Adjunct Professor Karen Price.
The candidates, in alphabetical order, are:
Dr Julian Fidge
A rural GP, Dr Fidge works as a practice principal in Wangaratta in northeast Victoria. A former soldier, he is also a pharmacist and a pharmacy owner.
Read candidate statement
Associate Professor Charlotte Hespe
The current RACGP NSW&ACT Faculty Chair, Associate Professor Hespe is an academic GP clinician, medical educator and researcher, as well as a practice owner in Sydney.
Read candidate statement
Dr Nicole Higgins
The current Chair of GP Supervisors Australia, Dr Higgins is a practice owner in Mackay, as well as a member of the RACGP Queensland Faculty. She was formerly a director of the Northern Queensland PHN.
Read candidate statement
Dr Chris Irwin
A GP and practice owner from Melbourne, Dr Irwin founded the Australian Society of General Practice in March 2021 and is the current president of that organisation.
Read candidate statement
Professor Brad Murphy
A rural generalist, Professor Murphy is a Kamilaroi man who works as a practice principal in Bundaberg. He was a driving force in establishing the RACGP Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Faculty.
Read candidate statement
Dr Chris Ogonowski
A Sydney-based GP for the past six years, Dr Ogonowski has been a doctor for more than 11 years. Prior to medical training, he graduated in law and briefly worked in investment banking.
Read candidate statement
Dr Kate Wylie
An Adelaide-based GP, Dr Wylie is currently the Chair of the RACGP Specific Interests Climate and Environmental Medicine, as well as a board member of Doctors for the Environment.
Read candidate statement
Campaigning officially begins on the day the candidates are announced and is officially due to end at midday (AEST) on Sunday 28 August, with voting due to run from 12 noon (AEST) on Monday 29 August until midday on Thursday 8 September.
There will be a four-day wait after the close of presidential voting before the new President is announced on Monday 12 September.
The successful candidate will replace Professor Price, who was elected President in the 2020 elections, and has been carrying out the role since 30 November 2020.
Full details on the candidates and the voting process is available on the RACGP website.

Clarification: This article has been updated as it incorrectly stated the voting period as beginning on Friday 26 August.

Log in below to join the conversation.

RACGP President RACGP Presidential candidates

newsGP weekly poll What is your chief concern with role substitution?

newsGP weekly poll What is your chief concern with role substitution?



Login to comment